The Queensland Government recognises that Anzac Day is owned by all Australians and the tradition of respecting the sacrifice of our forefathers must be passed down through the coming generations. The Premier’s Anzac Prize 2018 encourages young Queenslanders to better understand the Anzac legacy and share their knowledge with others.. The students and chaperones will travel to London and the Western Front in 2018 to visit key sites important to our Australian war history. They will also have the opportunity to attend the historic centenary dawn service at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux, France on Anzac Day and be some of the first visitors to the Sir John Monash Museum which will open its doors to visitors in time for Anzac Day 2018.

Premier’s Anzac Prize 2018 winners announced

Congratulations to the eight winners of the 2018 Premier’s Anzac Prize who will tour Gallipoli and the Western front in 2018.

The winners are:
Shana Coyle: St Monica’s College, Cairns
Tyla Craven-Griffith: Kirwin State High School
Jack Frey: St Theresa’s Catholic College
Isabelle Jardine: Clayfield College
Isaac Mabo-Edwards: Pimlico State High School
Fenlan Miller: All Saints Anglican College
Harry Packwood: Shalom College, Bundaberg
Lillian Ward: Tannuam Sands State High School

Premier’s Anzac Prize 2017 winners announced

Congratulations to the eight winners of the 2017 Premier’s Anzac Prize who will tour Gallipoli and the Western front in 2017.

The winners are:
Isabella Clarke: Matthew Flinders Anglican College
Marissa Ellis: Trinity Bay State High School
Brooklyn Lade: Proserpine State High School
Nicholas Margetts: Christian Outreach College (Toowoomba)
Chase Pontifex: Pimlico State High School
Matisse Reed: St Monica’s College (Cairns)
Charlotte Solomon: Somerville House (South Brisbane)
Hannah Taylor: Christian Outreach College (Toowoomba)

Premier’s Anzac Prize 2016 winners announced

Congratulations to the eight winners of the 2016 Premier’s Anzac Prize who will tour Gallipoli and the Western front in 2016.

The winners are:
Sophie Austin: Brigidine College (Indooroopilly)
Liam Doonican: Merrimac State High School
Cooper Hauff: Blackall State School
Sally Higgins: Assumption College Warwick
Denya Hopkins: Urangan State High School
Tasman Pearl: St Edmund’s College Ipswich
Tia Shadford: Brigidine College (Indooroopilly)
Ella Woodgate: Matthew Flinders Anglican College

The Premier’s Anzac Prize 2015 provided 70 Queensland high school students and ten teacher chaperones the opportunity to experience the Anzac tradition firsthand at the centenary commemoration at Gallipoli and travel to the Western Front battlefields in France and Belgium, over two weeks in April and May 2015. Student entries closed on 19 September 2014. The winners were announced by the Queensland premier on 5 December 2014. Media Statement available at

Premier’s Anzac Prize 2014 winners announced

Congratulations to the five winners of the 2014 Premier’s Anzac Prize. The students from Clayfield College, St Andrew’s Catholic College Redlynch Valley, Pimlico State High School, Tannum Sands State High School and Northpine Christian College entered inspiring multimedia submissions on the Anzac tradition to win a tour to Gallipoli and the Western front in 2014.

The winners are:
Elizabeth Gardner: Year 9, Clayfield College
Jamal Hammett-Ryan: Year 11, St Andrew’s Catholic College, Redlynch Valley
Pyu San Min: Year 10, Pimlico State High School
Mackenzie Plath: Year 10, Tannum Sands State High School
Tiffanie Turnbull: Year 10, Northpine Christian College

Premier’s Anzac Prize 2013 winners announced

Congratulations to the first five Queensland student recipients in The Premier’s Anzac Prize 2013. These students won a trip to Gallipoli and the Western Front in April 2013 for their inspiring multimedia submissions. They were challenged with the task of portraying how the Anzac tradition shaped our nation, why the tradition is still important and how future generations will continue to keep it alive.

Premier Campbell Newman, with Education Minister John-Paul Langbroek, announced the competiton winners in December 2012. They are:
Elijah Douglas, Year 10Doomadgee State School
Jack Graham, Year 9 Noosa District State High School
Emma Kearney, Year 11St Andrew’s Catholic College, Cairns
Kristina Madden, Year 9Christian Outreach College, Toowmoomba
Kyle Walsh, Year 9Kirwin State High School, Townsville